Skip to content

Hob-knobbing with goblins

October 29, 2009
rice krispy goblin buddies picnik

Ghost booooo-ddies

I love all of the fun and spooky food creations I see around the web these days.  I have not done a whole lot, other than the sugar cookies from my previous post, and even those have not all been eaten.  However, today was my daughter’s Halloween party at school, and I volunteered to bring the sweet snack.  Usually I would head straight for my cupcake liners, but while leafing through a parenting magazine, this idea popped out at me. Rice Krispy Treat Ghosts.

I know, I know…the cereal lacks a whole lot in the way of nutrition, and actually breaks one of my cardinal rules by containing high fructose corn syrup.  I don’t buy it often…only for making Rice Krispie Treats, and in the past year that means twice.  When I have more time, I will research an alternative, most likely a house brand at Whole Foods.  For now, I settled.  To offset the awful that is Rice Krispies, I used kitchen witch homemade Vanilla Marshmallows, which contain no high fructose corn syrup or blue dye.  There is a world of difference in the taste and texture of Rice Krispie Treats made with homemade, fresh marshmallows.  You really need to try them. (Be warned, however, that it is hard to stop eating them.)  You can buy kitchen witch Vanilla Marshmallows at my Etsy shop or at RegionalBest.com. I make them fresh for every order.

Rice Krispie Treats, in the form of ghosts

3 T unsalted butter
10 oz marshmallows
6 cups Rice Krispie cereal
a handful of mini and regular size chocolate chips. The only mini-size all natural chips I know of are sold at Whole Foods under the name Enjoy Life, I believe.

Thoroughly spray cookie sheet (preferably with non-stick liner) with cooking spray.  I used BJ’s brand spray canola oil. Set aside.

Melt butter and marshmallows together. When completely melted, add cereal and stir well to coat.

Once thoroughly mixed, use a cookie scoop to portion out 1/4 cup sized balls of mixture on a the prepared tray. Should make about 24 “blobs.”

Spray hands with cooking spray to work “blobs” into shapes resembling ghosts. If you are really dedicated you can even make bumps at the sides that look like arms.  I’ll let you judge for yourselves if I achieved that look with my goblins.  And yes, this is where it gets tricky and requires a modicum of artistic skillz. Keep using spray if things start to get sticky.

As ghosts are cooling, use dots of this “Easy Powdered Sugar Icing” where you want to place eyes and mouth. Press in mini chocolate chips for eyes, and an inverted regular size chocolate chip for the mouth. This is where I let my daughter help.  We used toothpicks to dot on the icing, and she had a ball decorating with the chocolate chips.

Voila! Rice Krispy Treats that impress everyone, but which really take no time at all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 10:01 pm

    OMG! How cute! These are so freaking adorable!

  2. October 31, 2009 11:35 am

    S P O O K Y and fun all the way! Love what you did with the rice crispies. I think these could dance with my meringue ghosts!

  3. October 31, 2009 11:55 am

    Anyone who can make macaroons is entitled to use high fructose corn syrup once in a while! Happy Halloween! I’m loving this Halloween tour today!

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

