Skip to content

Bountiful Brownies

June 17, 2009

So much is going on in the kitchen witch household, it’s hard to know where to begin.  How about an apology for being absent for so long.  I can’t believe it’s been almost two weeks (or maybe over two weeks) since I last posted.  I have this tendency to start projects with a gusto and then–lo and behold–another project comes along which requires the same gusto, and then two weeks have passed.

Being that two weeks have passed, it is time for another Thrilling Third Thursday.  This is the monthly event at the park down the street from my house, wherein I sell goodies.  The first one (last month) was my maiden voyage with ice cream sandwiches.  They sold out (easy to do when you only make thirty!). 

This week is a different event, less geared toward children, more toward their parents.  The main attraction is a blues band.  However, for the kids in attendance, one of the local PTOs will be hosting games and crafts.  And an ice cream truck.  So, of course, the park will still be crawling with kids.

My initial quandry had been whether to reprise my ice cream sandwich offering, or move on to something else, knowing that an ice cream truck would be there.  Because you can tell a kid that the kitchen witch makes the best ice cream sandwiches, and it may even be true, but that kid won’t hear anything over the ding-a-ling-a-ling coming from that truck.  What is it about a Dora-shaped ice cream on a stick that doesn’t melt, even in 90 degree weather?  What is the attraction?  The black gumballs for eyes?  I just don’t know.  And my daughter will be the first in line.

I have since come to find out that not only will the ice cream truck be at the event, but the PTO has arranged for FREE ice cream for the kids playing the games.  Which, ultimately, makes my decision a whole lot easier.  That and the predicted 70 degree rainy weather.

My tent will be adjacent to a coffee place selling iced and other kinds of coffee.  So I decided that these babies would pair nicely with that.

Real fudge brownies.  Not cakey...FUDGEY!

Real fudge brownies. Not cakey...FUDGEY!

I may also bake some scones, as one of my batches of brownies will only yield about 24 brownies.  In case you haven’t seen my scones, here’s a Cherry Almond Scone to get your day started.
So moist, it revolutionizes your ideas about scones!

So moist, it revolutionizes your ideas about scones!

And yes, you can purchase both of these lovelies, and many more at: www.kitchenwitchcookie.com.  Or, if you’re local to me (my town is on the website), you can order for pick-up or delivery.  Either way, a kitchen witch treat really is a pick-up.
See you in two weeks!
P.S.  Thanks to Tastespotting for publishing my brownie photo (above).  If, like me, you have had trouble when submitting photos to TS or FoodGawker, PhotoGrazing, etc., check out my latest project: TasteStopping!  Submit your rejected photos today.  Bittersweet that the brownie photo won’t be joining the fun there! 🙂 Oh…no pun intended on that one.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 11:38 am

    Ooo fudgey brownies! I swear the smaller you cut brownies the more brownie you eat!

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

    • TasteStopping permalink*
      June 17, 2009 11:47 am

      You couldn’t be more correct! Whenever I make these for company, I typically cut them into bite sized pieces, and everyone likes it better than a typical big brownie. But then, yes, you pop so many more in your mouth!

  2. June 17, 2009 2:27 pm

    I can only imagine these being totally wonderful! Great pic too.

    • TasteStopping permalink*
      June 17, 2009 2:51 pm

      Addictive might be an understatement. Thanks!

  3. bobbygee permalink
    June 18, 2009 8:05 am

    Sounds good to me. My wife would love to eat all of these. I would too. Bobby Gee. Check out my blog Bobby Gee http://bobbygee.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

