Skip to content

Not another ice cream pun to start a post

May 28, 2009

Okay, I can’t resist telling you that when my daughter asked for ice cream at breakfast, I did not scream.  She did not scream.  We all did not scream for…oh, you know the rest.

The reason I did not scream was that the request for ice cream was to accompany the beautiful waffles we were turning out on our Mickey Mouse waffle iron.

Now, if you read a few posts back, you’ll see that I am firmly a pancake girl.  Don’t know why.  Oh, wait.  Yes I do.  The waffles of my youth were crispy to the point of being crunchy.  As in hard.  As in, any surface area not directly smothered in Mrs. Butterworth’s had the potential of cracking a filling.  If you could cut the blooming thing into bite-size pieces.

And we had breakfast for dinner quite often growing up.  So, syrup and sausages and frisbees in the shape of checkerboards.

On Tuesday evening I told Katie that she could help me make something special for breakfast the next morning (to forestall her request to make something special on the spot, Tuesday evening, in lieu of, say, going to bed).  “Waffles?” I suggested, hastening to add “with the Mickey Mouse Waffle Iron!?” as I saw the look of doomed skepticism crossing her furrowed brow.

She bit.

And so, the next morning I was in pursuit of a recipe for waffles that wouldn’t require whole wheat pastry flour (like even if I had it, wouldn’t it be rancid about two minutes later?  No thanks, The Healthy Kitchen), whipping egg whites (another time, grandma’s recipe) or Bisquick (in my mind, a recipe that calls for Bisquick isn’t really a recipe; it’s cheating!).

Many, many years ago, my parents travelled to Huntsville, Alabama on their annual pilgrimmage to the National Silver Stick Convention (it’s all about hockey).  My father has been involved with this organization for longer than I can remember.  My mother goes along for the shopping.

Upon returning from this particular trip, she bestowed upon my sister, my sister-in-law, and me our own copies of the Huntsville Heritage Cookbook.  A product of The Grace Club Auxiliary, which later became the Junior League of Huntsville, Inc., this cookbook was first printed in October, 1967, and enjoyed its fifteenth printing in November, 1996 (which may be the year I received it; who knows how many additional printings have occurred).

The cookbook seems to have changed little in the intervening years, with the general theme contained within being equal parts hospitality, tradition and community.  Many of the recipes call for shortening and/or margarine (“not butter”), and the “Egg Noodle Casserole” is finished with a generous sprinkling of grated American cheese.  Many of the recipes derive their names from the person who loved the dish most, or made the dish best (“La Verle Caldwell’s Wild Rice and Chicken” and “Mrs. Balch’s Oyster-Stuffed Steak”).  There is certainly a homey feel to the cookbook, an intimacy with its authors that the book immediately conveys to readers.

I am woman enough to admit that I have barely touched the book before cracking it open in search of waffles; I have certainly never made any of the recipes contained within.

But now!  Oh I have found the best, most wonderfullest waffle recipe in its pages.  In a book where one can find no less than FOUR distinct waffle recipes (granted, one of them was listed in the chapter on desserts), there lies this gem:

Buttermilk Waffles
(I made some changes, noted next to the measurements.)

2 cups sifted flour (2 cups minus 2 Tablespoons unsifted all-purpose flour)
2 t baking powder
1/2 t soda
1/2 t salt
(I also added 1 t sugar and 1/4 c ground golden flax seed)
3/4 c salad oil (I used Canola, and next time will use less, closer to 1/2 c)
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 c buttermilk

Mix dry ingredients.  Add remaining ingredients and blend well.  (I measured my wet ingredients in a 4-cup liquid measuring cup, then added to the dry.  I did not blend well, but just until moistened and lumpy.  It was overly oily, so that is why I think cutting back to 1/2 c oil would be fine.)   Makes about 4 waffles.

–Mrs. H. Evins Hamm

Don't fear.  Lumpy is good.

Don't fear. Lumpy is good.

 The waffles that resulted were crisp and light and ethereal.  My girls ate theirs with caramel ice cream (a small dollop) and I went with organic pancake syrup.  When Avery couldn’t finish hers, I was glad to help.  Truly, they were easy and perfect.  And our Mickey Mouse waffle iron turned out 9-10 of these:

Oh, Mickey, you're so fine...

Oh, Mickey, you're so fine...

When noontime rolled around, Avery–all one foot ten inches–dragged the waffle iron box out to the living room to request more waffles for lunch. They were that good. We might even have them for dinner.

Thumbs ups all around.

Thumbs ups all around.

 

******************************

 

More ice cream related news. 

To win your own pint of Edy’s/Dreyer’s Slow Churned Ice Cream OR your own neighborhood ice cream party from Edy’s/Dreyer’s, visit A Girl and a Boy.  The deadline is tomorrow, but that doesn’t mean you can’t win!  Check it out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. leslie permalink
    January 31, 2010 4:14 pm

    Ran across your blog searching for a recipe for Chicken LaVerle…oddly enough. I am from Alabama and own the HH cookbook you mention. 🙂

    I also have a question. I read a small bit about you and about your kitchen witch website and applaud you for producing better quality products without using some of the bad ingredients as Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil and HFCS. However, I notice that you do use Canola oil and I used to use it until I read many times how bad it is for you and just wondered why you decide to use it in some of your products? Just curious as to your thoughts on this? Have you found that it is not as bad as some articles out there say it is? I know there is alot of conflicting information about so many products nowadays…but I was just wondering about this. I no longer use Canola oil and I try to avoid any products where I see it listed, if at all possible. I just use vegetable oil if I cannot use Olive oil (for baking I just don’t think you can use olive oil…right?) or butter. Is there anything bad with vegetable oil that you have found?? I would just imagine this is a little more ‘natural’ than oil that comes from something that is used as insect repellant(rapeseed). If you have found that this information has been proven wrong…let me know…I try my best to find out the correct information and sometimes now with the internet and everyone’s opinions…it is kinda hard. Have you ever thought about using Coconut oil? I hear it is probably the best option out there. I have never used it before, but I would think it would be better than Canola or Soybean or Vegetable oil?

    http://www.westonaprice.org/The-Great-Con-ola.html
    http://www.naturalnews.com/026630_canola_oil_olive_oil_saturated_fat.html
    http://www.westonaprice.org/A-New-Look-at-Coconut-Oil.html

    I think your Kitchen Witch business is a great thing! 🙂 Oh and thank you for writing about the LaVerle chicken otherwise I would have never opened my cookbook to find it in there. I have been searching for this recipe for a while now and I had it in my kitchen all along! 🙂
    Have a great day!!
    Leslie H.

Leave a Reply

