Skip to content

Taking the (cup)cake

April 18, 2009

After mentioning these cupcakes on several different occasions (and dreaming about them in between) I thought it high time to actually show one, in all its glory.

seriously dreamy

seriously dreamy

Of course, there was a cupcake wrapper, that I removed before taking this picture. The cupcakes themselves came together pretty easily, considering I already had some ganache stashed away in the fridge.  (Doesn’t everybody?)  However, I had never whipped ganache before.  Here’s what I learned…

When I make ganache to finish a cake (a certain three-layer chocolate cake with buttercream filling, drenched in ganache) or to top these beauties (see below), I use a ratio of 5 parts good quality dark chocolate to 4 parts heavy cream. 

better than store bought by miles!

better than store bought by miles!

To whip the ganache into a creamy frosting for the butter cupcakes, a little more heavy cream was needed, probably bringing the ratio closer to the more common 1 to 1.  I also added a tablespoon or so of powdered sugar to some of the ganache, to see if it made any difference to my palate.  I can’t say that it was enough sugar to register.

The yellow butter cake itself is not overly sweet, and surprisingly the ganache isn’t either.  Together they create just the right blend of buttery, moist cake and rich, chocolate frosting.  A half batch of cupcake batter made one dozen, and they are going fast.

Too bad the kids saw me make these.

(Edited to add: I have posted the recipe for this cake here.  Enjoy!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 3:15 am

    How long do I need to bake for the cupcake?

    • kitchenwitchcookie permalink*
      May 15, 2009 6:47 am

      I would start with 10 minutes, check with a toothpick, then add a few more minutes at a time until the toothpick comes out clean. The tops of the cupcakes will start to turn a little golden at the edges. These are pretty moist…I’ve undercooked and overcooked them and they still tasted great!

      (If you are baking mini cupcakes, reduce the time to 8 minutes and go from there.)

Leave a Reply

