Skip to content

Co-incidence

April 1, 2009

It’s hard for me to give a high concept answer to queries about how or why I started my business.  Many (or at least three) different lines of inspiration met up at one “Aha” moment and kitchen witch was born.  In the vein of “This is Your Life,” let’s take a look back, shall we?

1) While living the married but as-yet childless life in an apartment near the Art Museum in Philadephia, I can be found spending many a Saturday whipping together my favorite cookie recipe (now known as Ultimates), only to watch most of them go to waste.  Because who, other than this guy, can honestly consume all the cookies that come from one recipe before one of two things happens: A) they turn stale and unpalatable, or B) having been devoured in mass quantities, they lose all appeal, no matter how much cold milk is added. 

2) After having first baby, I become zealously engaged in the pursuit of healthy baby food, healthy adult food, just ANYTHING, for the love of Pete, that doesn’t contain hydrogenated oil!  Surprisingly hard to do.  Must consult Whole Foods.  Must then consult bank account.

3) After having first baby–enjoying perhaps a smidge of PPD and chronic sleep-deprivation in the process–I realize that there are parents, mothers in particular, all over the WORLD (okay, in my play group) who are similarly overwhelmed, under-rested, and in need of convenient, wholesome snacks for their children (see #2).  It comes as no shock that these mothers also, sometimes, due to aforementioned under-rested-, over-whelmed-ness, do not enjoy baking!

So, there you have it. 

Of course, it took a little more than that to weave these loose threads together.  While living large in the City, I toyed with freezing raw, individually scooped cookies, baking only what I wanted, when I wanted.  It worked!  Then as a mom-with-a-mission, I tinkered with my recipes to find alternatives to hydrogenated shortenings, artificially flavored toffee, et cetera, et cetera.  Then I decided that the world (okay, my play group again) needed access to my gourmet, ready-to-bake cookies (with brownies, scones and biscuits falling into the equation quickly thereafter).

One of these situations, on its own, would not have resulted necessarily in the creation of kitchen witch.  If I had never had children, perhaps my freezer experiments would have begun and ended with Ultimate Cookies, never revealing that my brownie recipe excels when put through the same process.  After all, a woman who loves to bake can dream up a pan of brownies whenever the mood strikes…until she shares her kitchen with a baby, who might not be as thrilled as she about chocolate and butter melting in the doubleboiler whilst waiting to be plucked from a highchair.  And that same original cookie recipe would still be mired in mediocrity had I not pursued the perfect process for making homemade toffee, thereby elminating so many unecessary chemicals and artificial butter flavorings from the final product.

I guess it’s fair to say that while my love of baking started me toward this business, my love for my children ultimately supplied the passion I needed to see opportunity sitting in the mixing bowl right in front of me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

