Skip to content

What’s in a Name?

March 30, 2009

One of the first things that people ask me about my business is how I came up with the name.

kitchen witch

It has a nice ring to it, sort of flows together. Plus, I think it lends itself to the whole concept of ready-to-bake cookies. “Making magic in the kitchen” and all that.

Fortunately for me, there is a story behind the name. Otherwise I might have ended up with something like Cookies by Casey, or Casey’s Creations, or Dough to Go.  And I probably would have changed it many times since then.

Years before starting my own business, I was a music teacher for a wonderful school on the Main Line of Philadelphia. Each spring, we hosted a recital, always a day-long event. Among the fifteen or so teachers, the owner of the school would assign jobs during the day of the recital. Some people were “happy fairy greeters” at the door, some were “burly set-up crew.”  You get the idea.

Because I love to cook and bake, she assigned me the task of bringing breakfast for all the teachers on the morning of the recital. My job title?

Kitchen witch.

Fast forward two and a half years.  I’m starting a business, offering ready-to-bake, all natural baked goods.  Sitting at my kitchen table pondering my options, thoughts of Fur Elise and Funeral March of a Marionette are a distant memory. There is a local Halloween parade in a few days, and I’m determined to hand out baked samples of my Fudge Brownies.  And suddenly, it comes back to me.

Perhaps my nickname at the recitals combined with the seasonal theme brings “kitchen witch” to the top of my brain, where it takes firm hold.  Perhaps the seeds of my business were planted that many years ago in my work as a music teacher.  However it happens, once that memory surfaces, I have the perfect name for my business.

kitchen witch

Sitting at the table, I draw my first logo by hand, retracing it over and over to photocopy onto store-bought labels.

A few days later I hand out bite-size brownies at the Halloween Parade–dressed, myself, as a witch. Which is why I am known, affectionately in these parts, as the kitchen witch.  Well, that and the brownies.

web-shot-early-logo2

first logo, hand drawn

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

